Monday, November 1, 2010

Fielding Bible Awards

What do Rafael Palmeiro and Jethro Tull have in common?  They both have awards they don't deserve.
The Fielding Bible Awards were announced today.  If you're unaware of what the Fielding Bible Awards, let me tell you.  They're like Gold Glove awards only they actually award good fielding and not decent fielders with good bats.  (Rafael Palmeiro won the 1999 Gold Glove Award at first base despite only playing 28 games at the position.)  Rob Neyer, Bill James, John Dewan, Peter Gammons, and Joe Posnanski are among the ten chosen to vote for the awards.  The winners (per Rob Neyer's blog) were:

Catcher: Yadier Molina (unanimous)
1st Base: Daric Barton
2nd Base: Chase Utley
Shortstop: Troy Tulowitzki
3rd Base: Evan Longoria
Left Field: Brett Gardner
Center Field: Michael Bourn
Right Field: Ichiro Suzuki

As usual they did an excellent job, although I might've made a couple of different choices.  For instance, I would've chosen Carl Crawford in LF, and could've made excellent cases for Ryan Zimmerman and Adrian Beltre at third base.  All-in-all, I give it two thumbs up.

No comments:

Post a Comment